Self indulgence

So there’s a baton doing the rounds within my somewhat limited blogging circle and Riding On Buses With Bags was kind enough to pass it my way, thus justifying a cheeky bit of self indulgence. Check it:

1. What never fails to cheer you up?

Firstly, my dogs (actually most dogs, but mainly mine). I have two Cavaliers and they are totally beautiful. They make me truly, breathlessly happy. This is Sid. He’s a bit camera shy. I also have Cassie (I like calling her Cassandra). They are not named after the Skins characters, it was just a happy coincidence. Cassie wouldn’t sign a release form, so no pic!

Other things that make me stupidly happy include: my family, magazines, reading, tshirts, the boyf, amazing one-liners, nail varnish, Nike/Chuck hi-tops, beautiful films, cool jewellery, smelling the washing machine (yep), non-fat days, thinking about New York City, that bit in a beautiful day where the sun is not setting yet but making everything a light orangey colour and streaming through trees and stuff, sweets/cupcakes, buff lingerie, nice photos, eeeeetttttttttcccccccc.

2. If you could live one day of your life over again what would it be?

Hmmm. Well I agree with Glitterbird that our graduation day wasn’t my most composed performance; it was way too hot, my hair went all shitty, I moaned, my dad was really ill and he had to leave a little early (he’d come from Belfast, and I felt awful) and it was generally not an enjoyable day. Don’t even talk to me about the photos. BUT, life is like that isn’t it? Don’t wanna go too Sliding Doors on ya’ll but as life happens every second determines the future, and whether said future is worth getting excited about is beyond the point, life is happening. And that’s it.

3. What do you like best about yourself?

Oh god. Erm, I’m shy but perceptive. This is also my BIGGEST weakness. If you think I’m staring because I’m a big bitch, you’re wrong. It’s because I’m interested in you/admiring your outfit/want to speak to you and I just don’t have the balls. Having said that, I enjoy being quiet, thinking a lot and taking stuff in. I really love people, it’s why I wanted to be a journalist. I’m contrary like that. But because I’m never the first to shout, I have the time and space to work people out, think about how their mind works and stuff and that’s cool. But, alas, in order to be a go-getting journo, I’ve had to really work on the shy issue and am doing ok.

Physically, I like my collarbone. I think all women’s collarbones are stunning. Weird.

4. What would you change?

Bigger lips, smaller hips. And I’d like to be able to write faster. I’m a great procrastinator.

5. What have you enjoyed most about blogging?

I’m not really that into blogging. That sounds awful doesn’t it. That doesn’t mean to say that I don’t enjoy the blogging community and the faves (fashiontoast et al), it’s just that my heart is in print. And blogs are killing my beloved. The main reason I do it is because it’s a diary. Stuff I’m into, a few opinions scattered here and there etc. I’m planning lots of cool stuff though so watch this space…

6. Who or what is your ultimate source of inspiration?

Magazines. Life. The feeling in my body that whatever it is I’m doing/about to do is right. PEOPLE.

and my Grandad who knows literally everything…

6. If you could be anywhere in the world where would you be?

At the moment I really want to live in New York, spending the week in the city and weekends in Coney Island or something beautiful like that. I’m totally in love with the place. Generally, I would like to travel everywhere for a year whist writing anything that comes to mind and interviewing average and not-so-average people on my way round. But that’s for the upper-working/middle class lot. I’m from the block so will be focusing on the move to London. As long as I can afford to buy magazines and visit a few interesting places I’m pretty happy.

I like the idea of eventually settling down on a ranch in, like, Texas or somewhere. I could wear jeans and a vintage tshirt everyday and venture into the nearest city for da shopz once or twice a month. My children would have really long hair and loads of cool pets.

7. Who would you invite to your ideal dinner party?

Johnny Depp (obvs), Jimi Hendrix, Britney, Beyonce, Karl Lagerfeld, Rick Owens, Grace Coddington, Olivier Zahm, Terry Richardson, Bob Richardson, Lester Bangs, K-Pez and Russell (and Matt Morgan), Tavi, Natalie Portman, Drew Barrymore, Alexander McQueen, Yves Saint Laurent, Freja Beha, Marlon Brando, The Obama lot, Vicky Pollard, Van Morrison, Sigmund Freud, The Jonas Brothers, the list goes ON…..

And I agree with ROBWB, Ryan Gosling avec beard is poetry for the eyes.

THANKS FOR LOOKING! I would like to pass le Baton on to…JUSTICEPLUSKISS and What Katy Wore (she is a blogging newbie, mega cute, like 16 and totally fash – I love her!)

3 responses to “Self indulgence

  1. OMG literally cannot believe I forgot Barrymore. Shame on my life. Your dog is immense x

  2. Shame on your life indeed! she’s da best. xxx

  3. michele beale

    nice one hun xx
    v honest and cally loved it too xx

Leave a Reply

